Philosophical and technical roots

of Niveau élevé

On 28 February 1968, a remarkable ceremony took place in South India, near the city of Pondicherry. An international city was founded, known as Auroville.
Invitations to the founding ceremony were sent out by UNESCO, the Indian government and a French-Algerian philosopher whose real name was Mirra Alfassa, but was more commonly known as “the Mother”.
Delegations from 124 nations and 23 Indian states travelled to the event, bringing soil from their home countries which was sealed in an urn together with Auroville’s Charter in the future centre of Auroville.
Delegations from the following nations were present at the founding:
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, China (Nationalist), China (Communist), Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Rep., Ceylon, Chad, Chile, Columbia, Congo, Congo (Kinshasa), Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Dahomey, Denmark, Dominican Rep., Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, India (23 States), Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Malagasy, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Mexico, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Rhodesia, Romania, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sikkim, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, South Yemen, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Tibet, Uganda, USSR, UAR, UK, USA, Upper Volta, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yugoslavia, Zambia.
Auroville-Design
The galaxy: the concept on which the city of Auroville is based
To allow the Auroville Charter to be accepted by all participating states, at the last moment a special version was produced, replacing the term “divine” with “the highest”, otherwise atheist USSR would have stayed away from the ceremony.
The Auroville Charter
  1. Auroville belongs to nobody in particular. Auroville belongs to humanity as a whole. But, to live in Auroville, one must be a willing servitor of the divine consciousness.
  1. Auroville will be the place of an unending education, of constant progress, and a youth that never ages.
  2. Auroville wants to be the bridge between the past and the future. Taking advantage of all discoveries from without and from within, Auroville will boldly spring towards future realisations.
  1. Auroville will be a site of material and spiritual researches for a living embodiment of an actual human unity.
In its resolutions, UNESCO frequently calls upon all member states to support Auroville. These include Resolution 14C/DR 6 (Oct. – Nov. 1966), Resolution 4.131 (Oct. – Nov. 1968) and Resolution 3.32.1 (Oct. – Nov. 1970):
“… Invites Member States and international non-governmental organizations, to participate in the development of Auroville as an international cultural township designed to bring together the values of different cultures and civilisations in a harmonious environment with integrated living standards which correspond to man’s physical and spiritual needs.”  Resolution 4.131.
Former Indian Prime Minister, Indira Gandhi, described the Auroville project as, “An exciting project for bringing about harmony among different cultures and for understanding the environmental needs of man‘s spiritual growth.”
The basic concept behind Auroville derives from the philosophy of Sri Aurobindo, the great Indian philosopher and freedom fighter, which rephrased the ancient Indian philosophy in modern terminology, thus creating a bridge between today’s society and the ancient Indian mysticism. One of his main political concerns was “human unity”.
Ref 167-035 PC
The “Mother” (left) in Pondicherry with Jawaharlal Nehru (middle)
Ref 79-082 PC
The “Mother” (right) in Pondicherry with Indira Gandhi (left)
Sri Aurobindo’s female companion, “the Mother”, was the actual founder of Auroville as she set out the basic principles of the futuristic micro-society and got the project off the ground. The philosopher was greatly esteemed in political circles at that time, and was visited in Pondicherry and asked for advice by Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and many other top politicians.
The first and most important construction project at Auroville was the “Matrimandir”, Sanskrit for “Temple of the Mother”. The basic structure was designed by the Mother herself and French architect Roger Anger. Construction took over 40 years and was completed just a few years ago.
Matrimandir
The Matrimandir is the central building in Auroville. It can be described the most interesting building in modern architecture. In its symbolism, the Matrimandir represents an emblem of evolution. It symbolises the breaking open of the earth, matter and the appearance of the “supramental consciousness”, and so a possible future evolutional leap or the further development of mankind.
According to the colour symbolism of ancient Indian teachers and Sri Aurobindo’s interpretation of it, the colour of the “Supramental”, i.e. the next stage in the evolution of life, is the colour gold. The specification for the building thus required it to be entirely gilded with real gold.
And this is where the story of the Niveau élevé watch brand starts.

Les racines philosophiques et techniques

de Niveau élevé

Une cérémonie exceptionnelle eut lieu au sud de l’Inde, près de la ville de Pondichéry, le 28 février 1968 : la fondation d’une ville internationale – Auroville.
L’UNESCO, le gouvernement indien et la philosophe franco-algérienne Mira Alfassa, plus connue sous le nom de « La Mère », avaient invité à la cérémonie de fondation.
Des délégations de 124 nations et 23 provinces indiens étaient présentes et déposèrent une poignée de terre de leur sol natal et la Charte d’Auroville dans une urne qui fut scellée dans le futur centre d’Auroville.
Les délégations des nations suivantes prirent part à l’événement :
Afghanistan, Afrique du Sud, Albanie, Algérie, Allemagne, Arabie saoudite, Argentine, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Bhoutan, Birmanie, Bolivie, Brésil, Bulgarie, Burundi, Chine (nationaliste), Chine (communiste), Cambodge, Cameroun, Canada, Ceylan, Chili, Chypre, Colombie, Congo, Congo (Kinshasa), Corée, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dahomey, Danemark, El Salvador, Équateur, Espagne, États-Unis, Éthiopie, Fidji, Finlande, France, Gabon, Ghana, Grèce, Guatemala, Guinée, Haïti, Haute-Volta, Honduras, Hongrie, Île Maurice, Inde (23 provinces), Indonésie, Irak, Iran, Irlande, Islande, Israël, Italie, Jamaïque, Japon, Jordanie, Kenya, Koweït, Laos, Liban, Libéria, Libye, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaisie, Mali, Malte, Maroc, Mauritanie, Mexique, Mongolie, Mozambique, Népal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigéria, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Ouganda, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Pays-Bas, Pérou, Philippines, Pologne, Portugal, Qatar, Rép. Centrale d’Afrique, Rép. Dominicaine, République arabe unie, Rhodésie, Royaume-Uni, Roumanie, Rwanda, Sénégal, Sikkim, Singapour, Somalie, Soudan, Suède, Suisse, Syrie, Tanzanie, Tchad, Tchécoslovaquie, Thaïlande, Tibeter en exil, Togo, Tunisie, Turquie, URSS, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yémen du Sud, Yougoslavie, Zambie.
Auroville-Design
La galaxie, le concept urbain d’Auroville
Pour que la Charte d’Auroville puisse être acceptée par tous les États participants, le mot « divin » fut remplacé au dernier moment dans une version spéciale par « le suprême », la Russie athée n’aurait sinon pas assisté à la cérémonie.
La Charte d’Auroville
  1. Auroville n’appartient à personne en particulier. Auroville appartient à toute l’humanité dans son ensemble. Mais pour séjourner à Auroville, il faut être le serviteur volontaire de la Conscience Divine.
  2. Auroville sera le lieu de l’éducation perpétuelle, du progrès constant, et d’une jeunesse qui ne vieillit point.
  3. Auroville veut être le pont entre le passé et l’avenir. Profitant de toutes les découvertes extérieures et intérieures, elle veut hardiment s’élancer vers les réalisations futures.
  4. Auroville sera le lieu des recherches matérielles et spirituelles pour donner un corps vivant à une unité humaine concrète.
Dans ses résolutions, l’UNESCO invite régulièrement tous ses États membres à soutenir Auroville, notamment dans la Résolution 14C/DR 6 (oct. – nov. 1966), Résolution 4.131 (oct. – nov. 1968) et Résolution 3.32.1 (oct. – nov. 1970) :
« …Invite les États membres et les organisations internationales non gouvernementales à participer au développement d’Auroville en tant que commune culturelle internationale conçu pour rassembler les valeurs de différentes cultures et civilisations dans un environnement harmonieux et équilibré répondant aux besoins physiques et spirituels de l’homme ». Résolution 4.131 :
L’ancienne Première ministre de l’Inde, Indira Gandhi, qualifia le projet d’Auroville comme suit
« Un projet passionnant pour apporter l’harmonie entre les différentes cultures et pour comprendre les besoins environnementaux de la croissance spirituelle de l’homme ».
Le concept de base d’Auroville a son origine dans la philosophie de Sri Aurobindo, le grand philosophe et combattant pour la liberté indienne, qui avait reformulé la philosophie hindoue antique avec une terminologie moderne, jetant ainsi un pont entre la société d’aujourd’hui et l’ancien mysticisme indien. Une de ses principales préoccupations politiques était l’ « Human Unitiy », l’ « Unité de tous les hommes ».
Ref 167-035 PC
« La Mère » à Pondichéry avec Jawaharlal Nehru.
Ref 79-082 PC
« La Mère » à Pondichéry avec Indira Gandhi.
La vraie fondatrice d’Auroville était la compagne de route de Sri Aurobindo, « La Mère », qui formula les grandes lignes de la microsociété futuriste et initia le projet. Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi et bien politiciens de haut rang venaient rencontrer la philosophe, alors très appréciée dans les milieux politiques, à Pondichéry pour lui demander conseil.
Le premier et plus important projet de construction d’Auroville était le « Matrimandir », le temple de la mère en sanskrit. Il fut conçu dans ses grandes lignes par « La Mère » elle-même et par l’architecte français Roger Anger et achevé il y a juste quelques années après plus de 40 ans de travaux.
Matrimandir
Le Matrimandir est l’édifice central d’Auroville et sans doute aussi aujourd’hui l’édifice le plus intéressant de l’architecture moderne. Dans sa symbolique, le Matrimandir représente un emblème de l’Évolution. Il symbolise l’ouverture de la terre, de la matière et l’apparition de la « conscience supra mentale », donc un futur bond possible dans l’Évolution ou de la poursuite du développement de l’humanité.
Selon la symbolique des couleurs des anciens enseignements de l’Inde et l’interprétation de Sri Aurobindo, la couleur du « supra-mental », donc de la prochaine étape de l’Évolution de la vie, est la couleur de l’or. Il fallait donc que l’édifice soit entièrement doré d’or véritable.
Et c’est ici que commence l’histoire de la marque de montres Niveau élevé.